

City of Hallandale Beach

**City Commission** 

400 S. Federal Highway Hallandale Beach, FL 33009 www.cohb.org Mayor Joy Adams Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana Commissioner Mike Butler Commissioner Michele Lazarow Commissioner Anabelle Lima-Taub

Interim City Manager Greg Chavarria City Attorney Jennifer Merino City Clerk Jenorgen M. Guillen, CMC

# Joint Special Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, February 6, 2019

5:30 PM

**Commission Chambers** 

SPECIAL JOINT CITY COMMISSION, GOLDEN ISLES SAFE NEIGHBORHOOD DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS, AND THREE ISLANDS SAFE NEIGHBORHOOD DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING.

# 1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to Order by Mayor/Chair Joy D. Adams at 5:30 p.m.

- 2. ROLL CALL
  - **Present:** 15 Mayor/Chair Joy Adams, Vice Mayor/Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana, Commissioner/Director Mike Butler, Commissioner/Director Michele Lazarow and Commissioner/Director Anabelle Lima-Taub

## Absent: 0

Interim City Manager Greg Chavarria and City Attorney Jennifer Merino were present.

# 3. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

4. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION (Speakers must sign-in with the City Clerk prior to the start of the meeting)

There were no speakers.

## 5. CITY BUSINESS

A. ADVISORY BOARDS AND COMMITTEES APPOINTMENTS (STAFF: CITY CLERK)

Howard Garson, Hallandale Beach resident was called to speak. Susan Lewis, Hallandale Beach was called to speak. Fran Markowitz, Hallandale Beach resident was called to speak.

Motion made by Director Anabelle Lima-Taub, Seconded by Vice Mayor Sabrina Javellana to have staff send an apology letter from the Commission to past and present Boards/Committees volunteers in the last two (2) years. Motion passed with the

following votes:

Ayes: 5 – Chair Joy D. Adams, Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana, Director Mike Butler, Director Michele Lazarow and Director Anabelle Lima-Taub.

#### Nays: 0

Motion was made by Director Anabelle Lima-Taub, Seconded by Vice Mayor Sabrina Javellana to direct staff to coordinate an appreciation luncheon or dinner sponsored by local restaurants for Board/Committee members that served in the past two (2) years. Motion passed with the following votes:

Ayes: 5 – Chair Joy D. Adams, Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana, Director Mike Butler, Director Michele Lazarow and Director Anabelle Lima-Taub.

Nays: 0

#### Unanimous Consensus:

 Approval of the following Reappointments to the Beautification Advisory Board: Chair Joy D. Adams reappointed Rochelle Blum, Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana made no appointment at the time. Director Mike Butler made no appointment at the time. Director Michele Lazarow reappointed Phyllis Brocoone. Director Anabelle Lima-Taub made no appointment at the time.

Motion by Director Mike Butler, Seconded by Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana to reappoint the existing members: Salvatore Broccone, Albert Cunningham and Etty Sims to the Civil Service Board. Motion carried as follows:

> Ayes: 5 – Chair Joy D. Adams, Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana Director Mike Butler, Director Michele Lazarow and Director Anabelle Lima-Taub.

## Nays: 0

## Unanimous Consensus:

Approval of the following Reappointments to the Education Advisory Board: Chair Joy D. Adams made no appointment at the time. Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana appointed Veronica Newmeyer. Director Mike Butler reappointed Diana Silva. Director Michele Lazarow made no appointment at the time. Director Anabelle Lima-Taub made no appointment at the time.

#### Unanimous Consensus:

- Approval of the following Reappointments to the Golden Isles Safe Neighborhood Advisory Board: Chair Joy D. Adams appointed Susan Lewis. Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana made no appointment at the time. Director Michele Lazarow appointed Rick Levinson.

Unanimous Consensus:

- Approval of the following Reappointments to the Historic Preservation Board: Chair Joy D. Adams appointed Fran Markowitz. Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana appointed Hubert Jackson. Director Mike Butler appointed Kathy Conover Curci. Director Michele Lazarow made no appointment at the time. Director Anabelle Lima-Taub appointed Joseph Greenberg.

Unanimous Consensus:

- Approval of the following reappointments to the Parks & Recreation Advisory Board: Chair Joy D. Adams appointed Howard Garson. Chair Joy D. Adams reappointed Von Thomas. Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana reappointed Javonta McCoy. Director Mike Butler reappointed Robert Perlam and Karen Garson. Director Michele Lazarow reappointed Gerald Dean. Director Anabelle Lima-Taub reappointed Leo Grachow and Barbara Southwick.

## Unanimous Consensus:

 To approve the following reappointments to the Planning & Zoning Board: Chair Joy D. Adams reappointed Rick Levinson. Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana reappointed Kuei Kang (Charles) Wu. Director Michele Lazarow appointed Faith Fehr. Director Anabelle Lima-Taub reappointed Howard Garson.

Motion by Director Anabelle Lima-Taub, Seconded by Director Mike Butler to appoint Bruce McNamara as the At-Large appointment (Alternate) to the Planning & Zoning Board. Motion carried with the following votes:

> Ayes: 5 – Chair Joy D. Adams, Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana Director Mike Butler, Director Michele Lazarow and Director Anabelle Lima-Taub.

#### Nays: 0

Motion by Director Anabelle Lima-Taub, Seconded by Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana to appoint Alex Lewy as the At-Large appointment (Alternate) to the Planning & Zoning Board. Motion carried with the following vote:

- **Ayes: 3 –** Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana, Director Mike Butler, and Director Anabelle Lima-Taub.
- **Nays: 2 -** Chair Joy D. Adams, and Director Michele Lazarow.

## Unanimous Consensus:

- To approve the following reappointments to the Public Transportation, Traffic and Parking Advisory Board: Chair Joy D. Adams reappointed Lawrence Grimson. Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana made no appointment at the time. Director Mike Butler made no appointment at the time. Director Michele Lazarow made no appointment at the time. Director Anabelle Lima-Taub made no appointment at the time.

Motion Chair Joy D. Adams, Seconded by Director Anabelle Lima-Taub, to appoint Leo Grachow as the At-Large appointment to the Three Islands Safe Neighborhood Advisory Board. Motion carried with the following vote:

- Ayes: 4 Chair Joy D. Adams, Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana, Director Mike Butler, and Director Anabelle Lima-Taub.
- **Nays: 1 -** Director Michele Lazarow.

# 6. CITY ATTORNEY COMMUNICATIONS - Items not on the Agenda

None

# 7. CITY MANAGER COMMUNICATIONS - Items not on the Agenda

None

# 8. ADJOURN

There being no further business to discuss before the City Commission, Golden Isles Safe Neighborhood Board of Directors and the Three Islands Safe Neighborhood Board of Directors, the meeting adjourned without objection at 6:10 p.m.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED BY:

ATTEST:

Joy F. Cooper, Mayor/Chair

Jenorgen M. Guillen, City Clerk

Adopted Date: \_\_\_\_\_