City of Hallandale Beach City Commission

400 S. Federal Highway Hallandale Beach, FL 33009 www.cohb.org Mayor Joy D. Adams
Vice Chair Sabrina Javellana
Commissioner Mike Butler
Commissioner Michele Lazarow
Commissioner Anabelle Lima-Taub

City Manager Greg Chavarria City Attorney Jennifer Merino City Clerk Jenorgen M. Guillen, CMC



Special Meeting Minutes

Monday, November 19, 2018	6:00 PM	Commission Chambers

Special Organizational Meeting

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Joy D. Adams at 6:00 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Present: 5 - Mayor Elect Joy D. Adams, *Vice Mayor Michele Lazarow, Commissioner Elect Sabrina Javellana, Commissioner Elect Mike Butler, and Commissioner Anabelle Lima-Taub*

Interim City Manager Nydia M. Rafols Sallaberry, and City Attorney Jennifer Merino were also present.

3. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

4. INSTALLATION OF NEWLY-ELECTED MAYOR AND CITY COMMISSIONERS

A. ACCEPTANCE OF THE 2018 GENERAL AND SPECIAL ELECTION RESULTS BY THE CITY COMMISSION (STAFF: CITY CLERK)

City Clerk Guillen introduced the item.

eComments (Exhibit 1).

Motion by Commissioner Anabelle Lima-Taub, Commissioner Mike Butler to accept Item 4.A. The Motion carried by consensus.

B. ADMINISTRATION OF OATH OF OFFICE BY THE CITY CLERK AND PRESENTATION OF CERTIFICATE OF ELECTION FOR THE NEWLY-ELECTED MAYOR AND COMMISSIONERS.

The Honorable Senator Eleanor Sobel administered the Oath of Office to the newlyelected Commissioner Sabrina Javellana.

City Clerk Jenorgen Guillen administered the Oath of Office to the newly-elected officials: Commissioner Mike Butler and Mayor Joy D. Adams.

C. NEWLY-ELECTED MAYOR AND COMMISSIONERS ASSUME SEAT ON THE DAIS.

Mayor Joy D. Adams, Commissioner Sabrina Javellana and Commissioner Mike Butler assumed their seats on the dais.

D. APPOINTMENT OF A VICE MAYOR.

Mayor Joy D. Adams introduced the item and requested nominations from the Commission.

Following City Commission nominations for a new Vice-Mayor, Mayor Joy D. Adams closed the nominations.

The following were the votes for Vice Mayor:

Vice Mayor Michele Lazarow nominated Commissioner Sabrina Javellana.
Commissioner Mike Butler nominated Commissioner Sabrina Javellana.
Commissioner Sabrina Javellana nominated Commissioner Sabrina Javellana.
Mayor Joy D. Adams nominated Commissioner Anabelle Lima-Taub.
Commissioner Anabelle Lima-Taub nominated Commissioner Sabrina Javellana.

To Nominate Commissioner Sabrina Javellana as the new Vice Mayor. The nomination carried with the following votes:

Ayes: 4 - Commissioner Sabrina Javellana, Commissioner Mike Butler, Vice Mayor Michele Lazarow and Commissioner Anabelle Lima-Taub

Nayes: 1 - Mayor Joy D. Adams

5. ADJOURN

There being no further business to discuss before the City Commission, the meeting adjourned at 6:10 p.m.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED BY:	ATTEST:
Joy F. Cooper, Mayor	Jenorgen M. Guillen, City Clerk, CMC